Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

City News

Fresh faces win seats in many area elections

File photo

Fresh faces will be seen behind the dais at the Jackson Board of Aldermen, the Jackson R-2 School Board, the Oak Ridge School Board and the Cape County Public Health Center Board of Trustees.

In each case, one incumbent was defeated by a challenger in the April 5 election.

Jackson Board of Aldermen

Michael Seabaugh defeated 26-year incumbent Larry Cunningham 290 votes (52.73%) to 259 votes (47.09%) for alderman in Ward 3.

In Ward 4, 23-year incumbent Joe Bob Baker defeated Steven Lee 155 votes (65.68%) to 78 votes (33.05%).

(Paul Sander in Ward 1 and David Reiminger in Ward 2 were reelected as they ran unopposed.)

Jackson R-2 Board of Education

In a tight race for the Jackson School Board, four candidates ran for two seats. The top two vote-getters are elected. Incumbent Brian L. Thompson received 1,713 votes (32.89%) to keep his seat. Kristen Lewis, with 1,190 votes (22.85%) will replace incumbent Paul W. Stoner, who garnered 1,133 votes (21.75%). ChallengerMcGraddie “Mac” Robinson received 1,164 votes

(22.35%) to come in third place, 26 votes behind Lewis.

Oak Ridge R-6 Board of Education

Five candidates ran for two seats on the Oak Ridge R-6 Board of Education. Challenger Dustin Michael Koerber garnered 195 votes (32.61%) to earn a seat on the Board.

Incumbent Ronald Tracy received 134 votes (22.41%) to barely beat Timothy Urhahn with 127 votes (22.24%). The remaining two candidates were Andrew Martin, who received 85 votes (14.21%) and Damon Lee Dillard, who received 56 votes (9.36%).

Cape County Public Health Center Board of Trutees

In a close race among threecandidates, challenger William Lewis collected 2,575 votes (35.76%) to defeat incumbent Philip Taylor, who received 2,409 votes (33.46%). Nancy K. Johnson came in third with 2,157 votes (29.96%).

Fresh faces finished first in some of the other races throughout Cape County.

Cape Girardeau Mayor and City Council

In the City of Cape Girardeau, Mayor Bob Fox was narrowly defeated by Stacy Kinder. Kinder received 2,113 votes (45.51%), which was just 23 more than re-ceived by Fox, who garnered 2,090 votes (45.01%). Challenger Michelle Latham received 428 votes (9.22%).

In Cape’s Ward 1, incumbent Dan Presson defeated Deborah Young 235 votes (60.57%) to 149 votes (38.4%).

In Ward 2, incumbent Shelly Moore didn’t run. Her seat will be filled by Tameka L. Randle, who garnered 232 votes (72.5%), defeating Steve Watkins, who received 87 votes (27.19%).

In Ward 6, Stacy Kinder vacated her seat to run for mayor. Former newspaperman Mark H. Bliss will represent Ward 6 after garnering 576 votes (61.76%) in a race against attorney Brandon Cooper, who received 346 votes (37.16 percent).

Cape Girardeau School Board

Incumbent Matthew Welker will return to the Cape Girardeau School Board after receiving 2,872 votes (40.56%). He will be joined by challenger Veronica Langston, who received 2,090 votes (29.52%), barely defeating Marcia Lynn Ware, who received 2,063 votes (29.13%). 

Other Races

Mac Armbruster was elected to the Oak Ridge Board of Trustees, as he ran unopposed. In the Advance R-4 School Board election, Darren Roper garnered 12 votes (52.17%) and Andrew Jenkins received nine votes (39.13%) to get elected. David Mayberry received two votes (8.7%).

In a close Nell Holcomb R-4 School Board race, the winners were Dawn Haupt with 128 votes (37.1%) and Chad Fisher with 110 votes (31.88%). Rachel Richey came in a close third with 101 votes (29.28%).

Rocky King was elected mayor of Delta and Janie Kirpatrick was elected Delta collector as they both ran unopposed.

In the Delta alderman race, Gary Diggs (26 votes, 27.08%) and Susan Dunning (25 votes, 26.04%) won.

They defeated Ruth A. Thiele (18 votes, 18.75%), Teresa Lesch Byram (18 votes, 18.75%) and Christy McClain (nine votes, 9.38%).

Winning the one-year unexpired Delta alderman term is Travis J. Keys with 30 votes (53.57%). He defeated Jason Waddle and Carolyn Bowers, who received 13 votes each (23.21%).

Three candidates for the Old Appleton Board of Trustees were elected as they ran for four seats. They were Kevin J. Amschler, Paul Albrisz and Dennis Stephenson.

Gregory Dullum has worked for The Cash-Book Journal for more than 25 years. Prior to becoming the editor in May 2017, he was production manager, circulation manager and reporter. Before moving to Cape Girardeau in 1988, he was editor of the Saint Louis Park Sailor, a weekly community newspaper in suburban Minneapolis, MN. A native of Minnesota, he returned there after graduating with distinction in 1978 from Ambassador College in Pasadena, CA, with a degree in mass communications. His wife, Marie, whom he met in college, is a native of Zalma, a small town in southeast Missouri. They have two grown daughters and five grandchildren. Gregory may be reached at

You May Also Like

City News

A 26-year-old Mississippi man was disarmed, arrested and charged with murder following an early morning shooting spree on Wednesday, Dec. 22, at the Town...

City News

A 58-year-old Jackson man drowned after going into Jackson City Park’s Rotary Lake during the July 4th firework show Sunday night. The man’s body...

City News

Americans frustrated by the policies of the current administration in Washington have let their feelings be known in large sporting venues across the country...


Former Jackson High School athletes will soon be honored in a new hall of fame program approved by the Jackson R-2 School Board during...