Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

City News

Incumbents fare well in most election results

Only 8.58 percent of the 52,468 registered voters in Cape Girardeau County cast ballots in the April 6 municipal election.

In the Jackson city aldermen races, incumbents Katy Liley and Tommy Kimbel handily defeated their challengers.

In Ward 3, Liley received 216 votes (76.33 percent); Matthew Ellison received 66 votes (23.32 percent) and there was one write-in vote.

In Ward 4, Kimbel garnered 91 votes (63.19 percent) while Steven Lee received 49 votes (34.03 percent) and there were four write-in votes.

(Mayor Dwain Hahs and Aldermen Wanda Young (Ward 1) and David Hitt (Ward 2) were re-elected as they ran unopposed).

Incumbents on the Jackson R-2 School Board fared just as well. Kelly Waller received 1,289 votes (37.86 percent) and Sheila King received 1,267 votes (37.21 percent). Challengers Richard Murray received 426 votes (12.51 percent) and Charles Wallgren received 398 votes (11.69 percent). There were 25 write-in votes.

The incumbent on the Oak Ridge R-6 School Board did not fare as well. Voters chose challengers Andrew Seaaugh (171 votes; 39.86 percent) and Nathan Schilling (164 votes; 38.23 percent) to sit on the school board and rejected incumbent George Below, who received 94 votes (21.91 percent).

Nine candidates ran for three seats on the Board of Trustees of the Cape Girardeau County Public Health Center. The winners were incumbent Georganne Syler, 2,031 votes (16.92 percent); incumbent John Freeze, 1,729 votes (14.41 percent); and challenger Eric Becking, 1,595 votes (13.29 percent).

Only two votes separated Becking from the top losing candidate, incumbent Emily Collins, who received 1,595 votes (13.29 percent).

The other candidates received the following number of votes: Carol Meza, 1,336 votes (11.13 percent); Matthew Uchtman, 1,302 votes (10.85 percent); Nancy Johnson, 995 votes (8.29 percent); Gerry Salter, 744 votes (6.2 percent); and J. Michael Davis, 634 votes (5.28 percent).

Incumbent Diane Howard defeated challenger Cassidy Klein for a one-year unexpired term on the Board of Trustees of the Public Health Center. Howard received 2,611 votes (64.15 percent) and Klein received 1,442 votes (35.43 percent).

Other results

Paul M. Cairns (1,118 votes; 30.89 percent) and Kyle McDonald (1,035 votes; 28.6 percent) defeated three other candidates for the Cape Girardeau School Board.

Amy Swain (102 votes; 38.49 percent) and Victoria (Tori) Johnson (92 votes; 34.72 percent) were elected to the Delta R-5 School Board.

Gordonville voters rejected a request that the village’s Board of Trustees forego an election if the number of candidates equaled the number of open seats. The vote was 32 “No” to 21 “Yes.”

Allenville and Whitewater had similar requests, and voters approved their requests 6-1 in Allenville and 5-2 in Whitewater.

Gregory Dullum has worked for The Cash-Book Journal for more than 25 years. Prior to becoming the editor in May 2017, he was production manager, circulation manager and reporter. Before moving to Cape Girardeau in 1988, he was editor of the Saint Louis Park Sailor, a weekly community newspaper in suburban Minneapolis, MN. A native of Minnesota, he returned there after graduating with distinction in 1978 from Ambassador College in Pasadena, CA, with a degree in mass communications. His wife, Marie, whom he met in college, is a native of Zalma, a small town in southeast Missouri. They have two grown daughters and five grandchildren. Gregory may be reached at

You May Also Like

City News

A 26-year-old Mississippi man was disarmed, arrested and charged with murder following an early morning shooting spree on Wednesday, Dec. 22, at the Town...

City News

A 58-year-old Jackson man drowned after going into Jackson City Park’s Rotary Lake during the July 4th firework show Sunday night. The man’s body...

City News

Americans frustrated by the policies of the current administration in Washington have let their feelings be known in large sporting venues across the country...


Former Jackson High School athletes will soon be honored in a new hall of fame program approved by the Jackson R-2 School Board during...