Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Fourth annual All-CBJ Team officially announced

It’s that time of the year again where The Cash-Book Journal celebrates eight athletes with the All-CBJ Team from the four schools in its coverage area, which are Jackson, Notre Dame, Oak Ridge and Saxony Lutheran.

Athletic directors from each school picked one female and one male to be selected to the All-CBJ Team. Those athletes were then automatically put up for the CBJ Female and Male Athlete of the Year awards, which are then decided on by the staff.

The four females named to the 2022 All-CBJ Team were Jackson’s Layla Fliege, Notre Dame’s Lexi Rubel, Oak Ridge’s Paige Glueck and Saxony Lutheran’s Anna Thomason. This is the third time Glueck has been named All-CBJ and second time for Rubel, who was also last year’s CBJ Female Athlete of the Year.

The four males selected to the 2022 All-CBJ Team are Jackson’s Liam Bryant, Notre Dame’s Quin Hunter, Oak Ridge’s Eli Sachse and Saxony Lutheran’s Wilson Lodge. All four are first-time All-CBJ honorees.

Next week’s issue will include the CBJ Athletes of the Year special section, which will reveal the 2022 Female and Male Athletes of the Year.

Nick McNeal covers high school sports, college sports and community events for The Cash-Book Journal. He graduated from Southeast Missouri State University with a degree in multimedia journalism and has lived in Cape Girardeau County for the past five years. He can be reached at cbjsports@socket. net.

You May Also Like

City News

A 26-year-old Mississippi man was disarmed, arrested and charged with murder following an early morning shooting spree on Wednesday, Dec. 22, at the Town...

City News

A 58-year-old Jackson man drowned after going into Jackson City Park’s Rotary Lake during the July 4th firework show Sunday night. The man’s body...

City News

Americans frustrated by the policies of the current administration in Washington have let their feelings be known in large sporting venues across the country...


Former Jackson High School athletes will soon be honored in a new hall of fame program approved by the Jackson R-2 School Board during...