Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Jackson golf wins SEMO championship; Lambert claims individual titles

The Jackson boys golf team pose with the SEMO Conference Tournament Championship after winning the title with a team score of 312 at the Fox Haven Country Club on May 1. Pictured in the front row from left: Sophomore Marshall Earnheart, junior Bradley Loos and sophomore Dru Eller. Back row: Head coach Zack Walton, junior Jake Miller and sophomore Ian Lambert. Submitted photo

Last week, the Jackson boys golf team competed in both the SEMO Conference and Class 5 District 1 tournaments, where the Indians were crowned conference champions and took third at districts, respectively.

Even though Jackson didn’t win the district championship, it still had its No. 1 golfer sophomore Ian Lambert claim the top prize as this year’s individual Class 5 District 1 Champion. Lambert did so by hitting par with a 72 at Crystal Highlands Golf Course on Thursday.

Ian finished just one stroke ahead of three other golfers who all tied for second place at 73 in Christian Brothers College senior Nathan Barclay and junior Austin Jacobs and Saint Louis freshman Harrison Zipfel.

Lambert was the only golfer for Jackson to finish inside of the top 10 and will be competing in the Class 5 State Tournament next week from May 15-16 at the Silo Ridge Country Club in Bolivar.

Despite not making the cut for state, Indians like Jake Miller, Dru Eller and Bradley Loos all finished inside the top 25. Miller placed the highest in a three-way tie for 21st place with a score of 82, while Eller and Loos tied with three others golfers in 25th place at 83.

This gave Jackson a team score of 320 as Christian Brothers College won the district title with a final of 301, while Chaminade took second at 315. CBC had another top-five finish, while Chaminade came up with two all-district medalists.

In the SEMO Conference Tournament held May 1 at the Fox Haven Country Club, Lambert was also the individual champion. Ian did so with a score of 74, which was three strokes above par as Miller finished behind him in second place at 75.

Loos also finished in the top three as he tied for third place with Poplar Bluff freshman Corban Thomas as they both scored a 78.

The Indians fourth and final all-conference medalist was sophomore Marshall Earnheart, who hit a 83 to tie for eighth place with Sikeston sophomore Henry Arndt.

These four Indians combined for a final team score of 312 to bring home the SEMO Conference Championship to Jackson, which won the title by nine strokes as Poplar Bluff finished in second at 321.

Sikeston came in third place but finished 32 strokes behind the Mules. Other Cash-Book Journal schools outside of Jackson in Notre Dame and Saxony Lutheran took fourth and seventh place overall, respectively, with team scores of 354 and 390.

Bulldogs junior Luke Gilmore was the only player to earn all-conference out of Notre Dame and Saxony as he took 10th place by shooting a 84.

Nick McNeal covers high school sports, college sports and community events for The Cash-Book Journal. He graduated from Southeast Missouri State University with a degree in multimedia journalism and has lived in Cape Girardeau County for the past five years. He can be reached at cbjsports@socket. net.

You May Also Like

City News

A 26-year-old Mississippi man was disarmed, arrested and charged with murder following an early morning shooting spree on Wednesday, Dec. 22, at the Town...

City News

A 58-year-old Jackson man drowned after going into Jackson City Park’s Rotary Lake during the July 4th firework show Sunday night. The man’s body...

City News

Americans frustrated by the policies of the current administration in Washington have let their feelings be known in large sporting venues across the country...


Former Jackson High School athletes will soon be honored in a new hall of fame program approved by the Jackson R-2 School Board during...